Recipe 19: Shrimp Mac and Cheese

Although I often find my mac and cheese recipes just moseying around the Interwebz, stumbling upon various recipes on the myriad recipe sites out there, I do sometimes seek out specific recipes for my macs.  Sometimes it’s to see if something will work, to try to use an unusual ingredient I happen to have in the kitchen, or to simply see if a specific recipe exists.  Speaking of, did you know there are breakfast mac and cheese recipes out there?  Forrealz!  I’m sure they’ll make an appearance at some point.

Anyway, while shrimp are hardly unusual, I don’t keep them in my kitchen most of the time.  I happened to have some in the freezer, and I thought I must have a shrimp mac and cheese recipe waiting for me.  After browsing through my bookmarks of recipes that I need to try (there is a whole folder in my browser of these), I did find a few – but most required raw shrimp, and mine were precooked.  After doing a bit of digging online, I found this simple recipe to use up those little sea-bugs.

Shrimp Mac and Cheese (from Mr. Food)

Ingredients

  • 1 pound elbow macaroni (I used rice elbows)
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour (or gluten-free alternative)
  • 1/2 teaspoon seafood seasoning (Old Bay)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 cups milk
  • 4 cups shredded sharp Cheddar cheese, divided (Loverman bought a yellow pre-shredded, so that’s what I used)
  • 1 pound cooked medium-sized shrimp, cut in half (I only cut some in half.  I’m a rebel like that)

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Coat a 9- x 13-inch baking dish with cooking spray.  Cook macaroni according to package directions; drain.  In a large soup pot, melt butter over medium heat. Add flour, seafood seasoning, salt, and pepper; mix well. Gradually add milk, bring to a boil, and cook until thickened, stirring constantly. Stir in 3 cups cheese until melted.  Add cooked macaroni and shrimp to cheese sauce and stir until thoroughly combined; pour mixture into prepared baking dish and sprinkle top with remaining 1 cup cheese.  Bake 35 to 40 minutes, or until heated through and top is golden.

Still kind of bubbling.

Verdict: 4/5

I loved this recipe.  The aroma from the cheese sauce and the Old Bay is delicious as it’s cooking.  The crispy bits on the top and the side take it over the top for me, but I am a sucker for crispy cheesy-morsels.  Loverman thought it was all right, but he felt it would be better if instead of shrimp, the protein was ham.  I think that could work, too.  Personally, I think it would work even without the shrimp, just straight-up vegetarian – though I think some bread crumbs on top would be needed to vary the texture.

 

Have you guys tried any of the recipes I’ve posted?  Do you have recipes you’d like to see me try?  Any other comments or complaints?  Let me know!  Contact me at weeklymac*AT*yahoo*DOT*com

Leave a Reply

