Recipe 25: Mac and Cheese Soup

Hello, Weekly Mackers.  I don’t know what the weather’s been like by you, but here at the Maison de Mac, it has been ridonkulous-hot.  I confess I may be biased: I tend to handle weather extremes quite poorly, especially when it’s extreme heat.  I have not been feeling like doing a whole lot in the kitchen, especially if it involves hovering over the stove-top.  But I can’t let y’all down, can I?

I knew looking at this recipe that it would probably be better suited for the fall or winter, but I couldn’t resist.  Last time I made a recipe that was less than mac, it was a dismal failure.  I couldn’t just leave the category like that, I needed to give it a chance to redeem itself.  So I braved the sweltering hot of my kitchen to whip this up.  Oh, the things I do for the love of the Internetz!

Mac and Cheese Soup (from This Woman Cooks)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups dry elbow macaroni (I used rice fusilli)
  • 1/2 cup minced onion
  • 1/4 cup minced celery (I left this out, but maybe should have kept it in)
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour (or gluten-free equivalent)
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine (I used sake because that’s what I had open – and no white wine at home)
  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tsp dry mustard
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 cups whole milk (I used skim)
  • 4 cups shredded sharp cheddar
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/4 cup crumbled bleu cheese – optional (not “optional” in my book!)
  • 2 tbsp. minced fresh chives

Directions

Cook macaroni in large pot of salted water according to package direction; drain and set aside.

Sweat onion and celery in butter in a large saucepan over medium heat until soft, about 5 minutes. Stir in flour to coat and cook 1 minute (this got really quite clumpy for me). Deglaze with wine and simmer until nearly evaporated (I didn’t simmer long enough; I think I felt panicky over the clumpiness). Stir in broth, mustard, nutmeg, and cayenne. Simmer until slightly thickened, 5 minutes, then whisk and warm through. Do not let boil or base may become grainy.

(Note: Nowhere in the original recipe does it indicate when to add the milk.  I added it around now.)

Add cheddar, 1 cup at a time, allowing it to melt completely before adding the next cup. Stir in macaroni, lemon juice, and salt; remove from heat.

Combine bleu cheese and chives in a small bowl. Garnish each serving with bleu cheese mixture.

Mmm… Soup…

Verdict: 2.5/5

This was not a bad recipe, but it could have been better.  I think maybe 1/2 cup more noodles would have been better, and maybe the addition of bacon.  I should have used the whole milk instead of skim; it would have been thicker and heartier.  however, you see the addition of the lemon juice at the end?  This isn’t so much for a note of citrus, but rather because by adding the acid tot he milk, it causes it to mildly curdle; not in a bad way, but in a way that actually helps thicken it slightly (fun fact: If you add acid to warmed milk, it can be the beginning of creating some homemade ricotta).  The soup had a feel rather like a potato soup, but a little salty – maybe my stock wasn’t low sodium?  I didn’t check, but I usually just buy the normal stock.  The addition of the blue cheese was not optional in my opinion, and not just because of my affinity for the stuff; it added a savory note that helped interrupt the somewhat salty overtones.

Have you ever made any of the recipes here?  Do you have any suggestions for me to make?  Let me know!

Leave a Reply

