Recipe 29 – Tuna Casserole Mac Hack

Firstly, you may or may not have noticed, but there is a new link up top as to ways you can help out Weekly Mac if you are so inclined.  This includes pointing me to new recipes, donating items/money, and sharing this page with others.  Anything you are willing and able to do is appreciated, and if I could I’d put a sticker on all your charts for you.

Secondly,  I’m going to start out this mac hack with a little anecdote.  It is (somewhat) related, I swear.

If you are like me, you grew up with Sesame Street.  I seriously loved that show, and it still holds a special place in my heart because I am basically a child in a grown-up body.  I can actually remember a few of the sketches and cartoons from it.  One of the ones that my family and I still sometimes joke about is one where a cat is desperate for his owner to open up his food for him.  We remembered at one point his owner, distracted on the phone, says to her friend, “I never saw tuna casserole look quite like that!”  We kind of use that as a silly thing to say when talking about mundane stuff, don’t ask me why.  Yeah, we are weird.

So I decided since this mac hack was related to tuna casserole, I needed to find the clip online, which I did – and learned we had remembered the line wrong after all this time.  She had never seen stroganoff look quite like that.  Oh, the tricks our memories can play on us!

Anyway, I thought you might get a kick out of that.  And now for the mac hack.

After you make your mac, drain a can of tuna to throw in and add some cream of mushroom soup.  You now have a cheesy tuna casserole.  Important note for fellow gluten-free eaters (gluten-freaters?): Most cream of mushroom soups are not gluten-free!  There are some specialty brands that make gluten-free cream of mushroom soups, but check your labels for sure!  You can also find some recipes online to make a substitute at home.

I have a new recipe all lined up and ready to go within short order.  I start my new job on Monday (hooray!), but hopefully it shouldn’t interfere with posting semi-regularly.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

