Recipe 37: An Unintentional Do-Over

Hey folks.  At this point I’m not sure I’m going to succeed in my goal of doing 52 recipes by the end of the year, but I’m going to do my best to get in as many as I can without going overboard… I love me some mac, but a) There is only so much mac one gal can take, b) I’d rather not expand the waistband.  You guys will still love me, right?  Right?!

So you may look at the title and think “lolwut?”  Well… I had a bit of a brain-fart.  A few weeks ago the hubz and I took an extended road trip around the Finger Lakes Cheese Trail.  It was a wonderful weekend, low-key and fun.  I could write a whole post about the trip (and maybe I will!), but for the sake of this post, I’ll say that we still had some lovely cheeses left, and I wanted to use some in a mac.  Among these was a lovely herbed goat cheese from Side Hill Acres, which may have a less-than-impressive website, but has some awesome goat cheeses – they even took Loverman and I on a sort of two-person tour through some of the production  areas and the goat barn (they were sweet, though one showed her affection by nibbling a hole in my shirt).  The goat cheese had a lovely rosemary flavor that stood out, along with several other savory, earthy flavors that paired well with the tanginess of the goat cheese.

Anyway, I found a recipe and began to make it… It was not until I was part-way through making it that I realized this was a recipe I already made for this challenge.  And it was a recipe that was not tagged as being Due for a Due-Over.  Derp.

The recipe?  Number 30, a Very Special Macaroni and Cheese with Goat cheese.  When I did it then, I gave it a 4.5… The re-do, using the herbed goat cheese is… 4.5-er?  It’s much better, much earthier, more savory and satisfying.  If you decide to make Recipe 30, I would strongly encourage you to use an herby goat cheese (preferably from a local creamery) and for the herbs in the sauce, use ones that compliment the ones in the cheese.

Don’t worry, Weekly Mackers.  More recipes to come.  Maybe not 52, but more originals, not re-dos.

Leave a Reply

