Recipe 49: Dessert Macaroni and Cheese

After the success of the breakfast mac and cheese, I felt pretty saucy about trying non-traditional macs. Well, I’ve done a breakfast mac, so the next major new territory was for a dessert mac. Yeah, you read that right. After all, cheesecake is good, and couldn’t a sweet mac and cheese be like a deconstructed cheesecake? The logic seemed sound, but I was seriously scared.

So naturally, I made this and served it to a huge group of friends.

Dessert Macaroni and Cheese (from Annie Capell)

Ingredients

  • 3 cups macaroni noodles
  • 12 oz cream cheese
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup white chocolate
  • 1 recipe streusel (recipe follows)
  • ½ cup sugar

Struesel Recipe

  • ½ cup flour (I used Pamela’s)
  • 4 Tbsp sugar
  • 4 Tbsp butter, cold and cubed
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • pinch nutmeg
  • pinch salt
  • ¼ cup walnuts, chopped

Directions

1. Cook the noodles in a pot of sugared water. Take water, bring to a boil with about 2 Tbsp sugar in it and cook the noodles, strain and cool
2. In a separate bowl combine the cream cheese, softened, sour cream, vanilla and 1/c cup sugar until smooth
3. Melt the white chocolate in microwave and whisk into the mixture.
4. If the mixture is too thick, add a little more sour cream or sugar to smooth it out. Taste and adjust seasonings, add more vanilla if needed or more melted chocolate
5. Add the noodles and mix until they are coated
6. Preheat the broiler
7. Pour into a pan and pat down
8. Sprinkle the streusel on top covering it (streusel ingredients should be combined until crumbly, but not dry)
9. Bake in the broiler until the topping is just beginning to brown. Serve warm or cold (see my note on this below!)
Rating: 1.5/5

I was scared about making this, and lemme tell you, I had every reason to be. This was actually pretty terrible. But some of the reasoning might be because of my gluten issues. Let me explain.

The recipe said to eat this hot or cold, so I served it cold. After all, that’s how you eat cheesecake, right? Everyone agreed, this made the texture terrible. Texture with gluten-free pastas can be iffy anyway, so cold? Gummy, gluey, waxy chunks of food that sits heavy in your belly. The taste was good, especially with the strudel topping, but the texture ruined it all.

One friend had the thought to warm it up in the microwave, maybe 30 seconds. She said it was much better warm. However, this friend is pregnant and I thought this might affect her taste (everyone has stories of weird cravings, it seems). I warmed it up. The texture was better, but now I didn’t like the taste.  As another friend described this recipe, “It’s so almost-there.”  Almost, but not quite.  Still, the original poster of the recipe says her friends all loved it, so take that into consideration as well.  My group of eight disagreed.

Now all this is not to say that I think dessert mac and cheese is bad all around. I still think there are some recipes that could work. But I admit, I’m a little leery about trying them any time soon.

Have a mac I should try soon? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

