Recipe 50: Crockpot Mac and Cheese

Look at that!  I’m starting to get close to my original 2012 goal of 52 recipes with this recent blitz of macs I’ve had.  Better late than never I suppose, right?

This is a recipe that has been floating around Facebook for a while (speaking of, you know you can follow me on Facebook, right?).  Finally I decided to give it a whirl.

Crockpot Mac and Cheese (found on Facebook, unknown origin)

Ingredients

  • 16 ounces elbow macaroni, uncooked
  • 3 – 4 cups cheddar cheese, grated
  • (1) 8 oz pkg cream cheese, cut into cubes
  • 12 ounces evaporated milk
  • 2 1/2 cups milk
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Combine all the ingredients in the bowl of a slow cooker; cover and cook on low for 3-4 hours.  Stir throughout cooking time to combine ingredients.  You can add more grated cheese for a cheesier version. Up to 4 cups (I did this because the hubz had used up some of the cream cheese, and I wanted to ensure the cheesiness).

A shapeless mess!  Yum!

A shapeless mess! Yum!

Verdict: 3.5/5

Here’s another mac that works as a good basis for other stir-ins.  I think something like a chorizo would be well iat home here.  It reminded me of the sort of taste that you might get if you ordered mac and cheese as a side at a BBQ restaurant – nothing too fancy, but not the usual boxed stuff.  It also fits in the “easy mac” category since it takes care of itself.  My crockpot had well and thoroughly cooked this in three hours, so keep an eyes on this.  This tastes fine plain, but also is good with ketchup or Sriracha.

It’s officially Xmas Eve, so if you celebrate, I hope your Xmas is merry and bright.  And if you don’t celebrate, I still wish you tidings of comfort and joy.

Leave a Reply

