Recipe 51: Easiest Vegan Mac and “Cheese”

You may remember that I once tried a vegan mac and “cheese” a while back. You may also remember that it wasn’t that great. Naturally, I was dubious about trying another. But when another vegan recipe presented itself, I decided I needed to soldier on.

No More Ramen is a great recipe website, though not for the usual reasons. It helps those who are on a limited budget who want to make things beyond the usual rice and beans (though you can find some recipes for that, too!). It also takes into consideration those with food restrictions and health concerns which may make high-energy or longer recipes difficult. It’s a labor of love compiled by a lone blogger, but anyone can contribute. I heart this website.

This recipe was pretty simple in terms of putting it together, which made me hopeful.

Easiest Vegan Mac and “Cheese” (from No More Ramen)

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup raw cashews or cashew pieces (soaked for 2+ hours beforehand if you don’t have a high-speed blender) OR 2/3 cup canned white beans, drained – I used canned beans
  • 2 tbs nutritional yeast
  • 2 tbs miso (if you can’t have soy, omit this- I’ve made the sauce before without it and it’s just fine) – I left this out because I didn’t have any
  • 3 tsp soy sauce (or tamari, or Bragg’s liquid aminos)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 tbs lemon juice
  • 3 tsp mustard
  • 1-2 cloves garlic
  • 4-6 tbs olive oil
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 3/4-1 cup water
  • 8 oz cooked macaroni – I used corn elbows

Directions

In a blender, blend cashews, nutritional yeast, miso, soy sauce, salt, lemon juice, mustard, garlic, olive oil, pepper, and water on high until completely smooth. Toss with cooked macaroni (that has been returned to the pot after draining) until the noodles are completely coated. That’s it!

Verdict: 1.5/5

I said I wanted to solider on with a new vegan recipe, and that I was hopeful about it. Both were in vain. The sauce was watery and tasted of nothing but lemon and vinegar. Neither Loverman nor I wanted seconds. There is no picture because it was that bad.

Here’s to a better recipe next time.

One Comment on “Recipe 51: Easiest Vegan Mac and “Cheese””

  1. Ema Jones says:

    Delish Vegan treat! Happy New Year 🙂


Leave a Reply

