Recipe 56: Cheese Kreplach Mac

Every so often I come across a recipe that makes me think “this needs to go on Weekly Mac, but I’m not sure if it counts as a mac.”  The original recipe I came across was for kreplach, which is sort of a Jewish ravioli, for lack of a better term, but was easily transformed into a mac.
Cheese Kreplach Mac (inspired by this recipe from My Jewish Learning)
Ingredients
  • 8oz elbow macaroni (I used corn)
  • 8oz plain goat cheese
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons za’atar seasoning
Directions
Cook pasta according to package instructions.  Drain and return to pot.  Mix in goat cheese and seasoning and serve.
Not much to look at.

Not much to look at.

Verdict: 2.5/5
I think the amount of seasoning I used dried out the taste too much.  Maybe stick with one teaspoon, or maybe even a little less.  Start with half a teaspoon and add from there: a little goes a long way.
Leave a Reply

