Recipe 60: Red Pepper Mac N Cheese

I’ve had this mac in my back pocket for a little while now.  It seemed to me like it would be fairly easy, but also flavorful.  As you may remember, I am a wuss when it comes to spice, but red pepper?  Delicious!  And if it was any good, it would be a nice addition to my arsenal of vegetarian dishes.

Red Pepper Mac N Cheese (from the Frickin Chicken)

Ingredients

  • 6 tablespoons of butter
  • 6 tablespoons of flour (or gluten-free equivalent)
  • 1.5 C milk (mine was skim)
  • 8 oz sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 lb pasta (any) al dente (firm) (I used corn rigatoni)
  • Bread Crumbs (I skipped this step – see below)
  • 4 Red Peppers chopped (I had 3 red and 1 orange.  I think any sweet not-green pepper would work here)
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced

Directions

Melt the butter on low heat, add in the flour.  Stir until bubbles appear – cook for 2-3 mines.  Add 1.5 C milk slowly – stirring constantly.  Blend the Peppers, onions and garlic until smooth and add to the roux.   Add approx 8 oz sharp cheddar cheese. Add salt and pepper to taste.  Cook 1 lb pasta (any) al dente (firm)

IMG_3172

Mix together and bake covered till hot about 15 minutes (I was really hungry so I just mixed mine on the stovetop and called it gravy)

Take off cover, add (buttered) bread crumbs & grated cheese mixture – bake a few more ins or broil for a minute…watching constantly.  It burns quickly.

And look at that color!

And look at that color!

Verdict: 2.5/5 There wasn’t much bad to say about this mac except, well… It was so very bland!  I thought it would be sweet with all those peppers, but instead it had an odd texture verging on gritty.  The cheese got completely lost, offering no real flavor or even texture – mine came out rather soupier than I imagined.  I thought this could be a great way to sneak vegetables into the dishes of children or reticent adults, but there would be no illusions: This is more a vegetable dish than a mac and cheese.  Maybe more cheese, or an extra-sharp would have been better?  As I say, it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t anything to write home about either.

 

Do you have any mac and cheese recipes you like for me to try in my haphazard but lovable way?  Drop me a line!

Leave a Reply

