Recipe 63: Gluten-Free Mac and Cheese

You know me.  I make no secret about the fact that I’m gluten-free.  Heck, I have a whole heading where I talk about different gluten-free pastas.  But what might not have noticed is he fact that most of the recipes I make I’m adapting to be gluten-free from “normal” recipes.  Sometimes that makes things go funny.  Remember the mac and cheesecake?  That was probably the disaster it was because of gluten-free pasta.

But every now and then I’m lucky enough to find a recipe made especially for those of us of the gluten-free persuasion.  A recipe which takes into account the quirks of gluten-free pasta.  And when it’s nice and easy like this one?  How could I say no?

Gluten-Free Mac and Cheese (by Gluten-Free Girl and Presented by Parade Magazine)

Ingredients

  • 1 lb gluten-free macaroni, elbows or shells (DeLallo, for example) – I used Wegman’s brand of corn shells
  • 1 cup (4 oz) grated cheddar cheese
  • 4 oz soft goat cheese or cream cheese
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste – I suggest a heavy hand with these.

Directions

 

  • Cook pasta in a large pot of boiling salted water until al dente.
  • Spread cheddar in bottom of a large bowl. Dot with goat cheese. Drain pasta, reserving ¾ cup pasta water. Add drained pasta on top of cheeses. Pour ½ cup pasta water over pasta. Let stand 5 minutes. Gently stir until pasta is coated with sauce. If you’d like it creamier, add more pasta water, 1 Tbsp at a time. Season with salt and pepper.

 

And here she is!

And here she is!

VERDICT: 3/5 – I’ll admit, I was a little skeptical of how the mechanics of mixing the sauce would work, but it worked like a charm.  The texture is a little one-note since there aren’t any mix-ins, but this is a great flavor.  This would be one of those that serves as a great base for other flavors.  I think chicken or mushrooms would be at home here, maybe even shrimp.  It withstood warming up in the microwave, but by then it was a bit bland.  I think use this as a base recipe and you’ll be much happier.

 

I made this recipe a few days ago, and already tonight I have a new recipe to update you with!  We’re rich with mac and cheese in this house!

Leave a Reply

